It Sucks to Scalp Futures on a Huge Down Day

The S&P500 fell 1.71 % yesterday. These are the days that are made for trend followers. Being a scalper is a hard thing on a day like this.

I made one trade on a pull back, and I ended up scratching it , just paying the vig commission. A few minutes after that, I got the best signal of the day and I let it pass me by. This set me up for a loss later in the day.

The second trade was a classic setup for 4 ticks.

I think it was still bugging me on the first trade and I traded up to lunch. usually I am gone by then, but I stayed around. Took another short and the market started jumping about like some one was sweeping the book or  ( more likely ) the volume dried because traders were going to lunch. The market got jumpy and I bailed. The trade went my way but I wasn’t onboard, and gave back two ticks.

Ended the day up $9.74. Yeah……

Leave a comment